Identify British Army Uniform in India

For all discussions relating to military uniforms, insignia, equipment and medals of the Victorian period.

Identify British Army Uniform in India

Postby tony56 » 06 Feb 2009 11:02

Hi,
Tring to trace my great grandfather Stephen Keogh, I have attached a photograph of him in uniform. I am no military expert but what I can gather from the uniform is he was a captain and the insignia on his cap shows GRI under a Tudor Crown, I think the GRI stands for George Rex Imperator, George V King Emperor. I don't know if he was born in India or wherever but his name is Irish, his daughter Phyllis was born in India in 1909 so he could have been born maybe 1870 to 1890 ish.
Do you have any idea what regiment he could of been in so I can trace his military history.

Regards,
Tony.

Stephen Keogh.jpg
Stephen Keogh
Stephen Keogh.jpg (40.65 KiB) Viewed 2497 times
tony56

Re: Identify British Army Uniform in India

Postby elmac » 06 Feb 2009 12:48

Hi Tony
I think he is a Lt. as they have two pips - Second Lt's have one, and Captains have three. Can't help with the regiment, sorry

Have you had a look at the FIBIS search site www.fibis.org as there are quite a lot of Keogh's in India
FIBIS stands for Families in British India Society and there are over half a million entries in the free searchable database

Elmac
elmac

Postby Mark » 06 Feb 2009 15:03

He is indeed a Lieutenant in the photo since he has two pips. Prior to 1902 (I think but please correct me if I am wrong) Captains had only two pips, Lieutenants one pip and Sub-Lieutenants none. After 1902 all three ranks gained a pip - i.e. Captain three, Lieutenant two and so on.

His medal ribbon looks like the China Medal 1900 to me!?

Mark
Mark Simner BA (Hons) MSc | Web: http://marksimner.me.uk | Twitter @marksimner
Mark
Forum Administrator

Postby tony56 » 07 Feb 2009 01:01

Hi Elmac & Mark,